Waka Hourua

Our Rōpū Our Team

Without dedicated staff members it would be impossible for Te Rau Matatini to accomplish everything it has done thus far. 

Te Rau Matatini employees 52 staff throughout Aotearoa New Zealand to deliver their core work programmes, and specialist or experts for one-off projects.

There are currently six teams within Te Rau Matatini:

•   Chief Executive Office

•   Workforce Innovation

•   Business Management Group

•   Training and Education

•   Research and Evaluation

•   Strategic Marketing and Communications.

Waka Hourua programme delivery sits within the Workforce Innovation team and is supported by the other five teams. Maria Baker is the Senior Manager for Workforce Innovation and Tio Sewell is the Waka Hourua Programme Manager.

E Tū He Māori – Ko Au, Ko Koe, Ko Tātou

A team of Pou Ārahī are located in Maori communities with Te Rau Matatini to extend the Waka Hourua Māori Community Programme across Aotearoa New Zealand.

One of the aims is to build the capacity and capabilities of Māori communities, and to develop a suicide prevention action plan that responds safely and effectively to suicide and the impacts of suicide.

Our Pou Ārahi team can be found in Northland Far North - Angela Witana, Counties Manukau & Waikato - Jon RoyalLakes - Hakopa PaulHawkes Bay - Zack MakoarePalmerston North & Wairarapa - Manny Kipa and Whanganui and Taranaki - Kiritahi Firman.


L-R - Tio Sewell, Zack Makoare, Kim Whānga-Kipa, Hakopa Paul, Mapihi Raharuhi, Tyler Morris, Okeroa McRae, Maria Baker, Ronald Baker, Front: Manny Kipa, Kiritahi Firmin and Angela Witana.

copyright 2017 © Te Rau Matatini